For the last week I’ve been exercising too little, eating and drinking too much. Sounds like a terrible way to get ready for the toughest race of my life doesn’t it? I’m just finishing up our annual company sales meeting/incentive trip which is my rationale for my poor training choices. I’ve done better on this trip that past ones but there’s no way I can bust out for a long ride so I’ve had to settle for running when I could. My wife says this will work in my favor because I’ll be completely recovered. It will be interesting to see how I feel after this forced break versus what my normal approach would have been.

On the plus side, the food’s been fantastic. Great Texas barbecue and now amazing sea food in Galveston. I’ll have to remember how good the shrimp here was when I’m struggling at mile 200!

