I’ve been working on my single speed. Seems like I’m always working on a bike. I’ve decided I like fiddling with them as much as I like riding them. My latest fiddle involved new brakes, lower gearing and cross tires. I want to use this bike at Cirrem later this month so need it set up for fairly hilly gravel roads.

IMG_1177

This picture was taken on my shake down cruise. I was exploring the gravel roads east of town enjoying a gorgeous front range day and view. The bike was working great, all was well until it wasn’t. This is a converted 80’s road bike with horizontal dropouts so it’s got limited chain adjustment. Turns out the gearing that was perfect for me wasn’t perfect for the bike. With the axle pulled all the way to the back of the dropouts, the chain was still too loose. The bumps on the gravel road exposed this flaw and the chain kept getting a little hung up.

I was in limp back home and fix mode when I hit another bump and felt the chain catch again only this time, when I started pedaling again, the crank just spun freely. I looked behind me and saw the chain laying on the road, crapper dapper! One of the chain side plates had snapped and the halves were still riveted to my open chain. I had a spare master link but I did not have a chain tool to remove the broken pieces so I was SOL.

I arranged an extraction from my wife but it would be awhile before she could get me. I was about 10 miles from home so I started walking. After awhile I discovered I could make a lot better time if I got on the bike and “scootered” it along. I ended up scootering/walking about 6 miles before I met up with the rescue vehicle.

Lesson learned, use chamois butter to minimize discomfort of prolonged scootering.

 

