When you bust out on a 60+ miles ride through the hinterlands in February one thing you know for sure is something’s going to happen you’re not expecting. I think that’s why I love it. Last Saturday’s Cinnamon Roller from the Winter Ralleye (yes, that’s how they spell it) Ride Series held true to form and threw a couple of curves at me but the one that I absolutely didn’t see coming was NO CINNAMON ROLLS! C’mon, that was supposed to be the high point of the turn around, a hot buttery drippy cinnamon roll and some good coffee. It was on the poster, “warm food, hot drinks and cinnamon rolls.”

Rolling out from Bean Cycle

Rolling out from Bean Cycle

I really not that big a fan of cinnamon rolls in general but by the time we stopped at the Forks, supposed purveyors of aforementioned rolls, we’d experienced a 20 degree temperature drop with nasty headwinds, a detour requested by a scary group of men dressed in black fatigues and holding assault rifles and I’d broken my chain (again) which had me riding in the DFL position.

This is what the route looks like when you are DFL

This is what the route looks like when you are DFL

As I was grinding up a hill, into the wind, not feeling my feet anymore, all by myself and wondering if I would be able to find the group again, I started thinking about that cinnamon roll. Oh yea, I can do this because that hot sugary goodness is waiting for me. I made it to the Forks, which is a roadhouse at you guessed it, a fork. Bikes were scattered everywhere and I added mine to the pile. Inside was warmth, a convenience store, a bar, and a little restaurant with sub sandwiches and soup but not cinnamon rolls. I figured that riding DFL meant they’d run out before I got there so I started asking about them wondering if they’d been good. I got the same answer from everyone…there weren’t any and there never had been!

Leaving the Forks, the non-cinnamon roll capital of the front range

Leaving the Forks, the non-cinnamon roll capital of the front range

I almost settled for a microwaved Honey Bun. I know a guy that lived on them when he thru hiked the AT and I don’t think they caused permanent damage. But dammit, a Honey Bun is not a cinnamon roll and I didn’t do it. The next ride in the series is called Deadman’s Long Haul. I’m hoping the pattern holds and there are no dead men on that one, too.

